People on the Move: ABA Nominates New Board Members


ABA — The American Bankers Association (ABA) has named candidates to its board ahead of elections in early October. Daniel Robbchairman and CEO of Missouri-based Jonesburg State Bank is the nominee for chair of the ABA board, while Julieann Thurlowpresident and chief executive officer of Reading Cooperative Bank in Massachusetts, was named president-elect.

The proposed vice-president is John AsburyCEO of Atlantic Union Bancshares in Virginia, while Carissa Rodeheaver — chairman, president and chief executive officer of First United Bank & Trust of Maryland — was named treasurer.

Six other candidates for the ABA Board of Directors have been proposed:

  • Brent BeardallPresident and CEO, WaFd Bank, Washington
  • Cheryl BowerPresident and CEO, Rondout Savings Bank, New York
  • John CiullaPresident and CEO, Webster Financial Corporation, Connecticut
  • simon cruzDirector, President and CEO, Intercredit Bank, Florida
  • Larry MyersPresident and CEO, First Savings Bank, Indiana
  • wayne wickerChairman and CEO, South Atlantic Bank, South Carolina

If elected, the candidates will join ABA CEO Rob Nichols and 14 other bank bosses from across the country on the association’s board of directors.

TowneBank — The Virginia-based bank appointed William Foster III as its next CEO. Foster will succeed Morgan Davis in the role on January 1, 2023.

Davis will remain with the company to help with the transition before retiring on March 31, 2023, but will remain on the board, the bank said in a statement.

Foster joined TowneBank in 2004 as Regional President for the Norfolk, Virginia area. He is currently President for the Central Virginia and North Carolina markets.

Heartland Bank and Trust Company — The CFO of the Illinois-based company Matthew Doherty is to step down at the end of 2022 under a phased retirement plan. He will remain with the company as treasurer.

Pierre Chapmanpreviously Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Great Western Bancorp, will join Heartland on October 1, 2022 and succeed Doherty as Chief Financial Officer on January 1, 2023. Chapman worked for Great Western Bancorp from November 2012 until its merger with First Interstate BancSystem, in February of this year.

Capital banking groupKimbrough Davis is to retire as chief financial officer after a 41-year career at Capital City Bank. Jep Larkin will succeed him as Chief Financial Officer as of January 1, 2023.

Davis joined the bank in 1981 and has served as chief financial officer since 1987. He oversaw the bank’s growth from $200 million in assets when it joined $4.4 billion, and was involved in 16 merger or acquisition with other banks.

Larkin joined Capital City in 1986 and held several credit and audit positions throughout that time. He is currently Senior Vice President and Controller of Capital City Bank Group and a member of the Management Committee.

South Atlantic Banks — Head of Operations Richard Burch left the South Carolina-based bank in late July. He also left his directorships on the board of directors of the company and its subsidiary South Atlantic Bank.

In a statement, the bank said it does not plan to hire a new COO. Burch’s duties were shared among other executives.

Atlantic Union BankHeather Cox was appointed to the board of directors of Atlantic Union’s parent company, Atlantic Union Bankshares Corporation. She was most recently head of digital health and analytics at Humana, a Kentucky-based health insurer. She was previously Director of Technology and Digital at USAA, and has also held senior technology roles at Citi, Capital One and E*TRADE Financial.

Simmons BankMauritius Butler joined the bank of Tennessee as director of community development, responsible for overseeing the bank’s Community Reinvestment Act plan. He will also be responsible for Simmons Bank’s community affairs officer team which has focused on helping underserved communities in the bank’s six states.

The first bank — ray cole, CEO of Mississippi-based First Bancshares and its subsidiary The First Bank, became chairman of both entities in addition to his current role. He replaced Ricky Gibson in the role from August 18. Gibson remains on the board, while Ted Parker was appointed Lead Independent Director.

Community banking system — Joseph Serbun is due to retire as president of retail banking after more than 14 years, during which he held several positions, including chief credit officer and chief banking officer. His retirement is effective as of September 30, 2022.

In the meantime, the bank has appointed Dimitar Karaivanov as Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, effective October 1. He is currently Executive Vice President of Financial Services and Corporate Development, a position he has held since joining the bank in June 2021.

MVB Financial CorporationMarston Becker was appointed Chairman of the Board of MVB Financial. He replaces David Alvarez. Becker has been a board member since November 2020 and sits on several other boards of financial services companies. He is the former President and CEO of global insurance and reinsurance company Alterra Capital.


About Author

Comments are closed.